## **GOVERNMENT OF ASSAM** OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF TAXES :: :: ASSAM DISPUR, GUWAHATI-781006

## **ORDER**

Dated Dispur, the 13<sup>th</sup> December, 2016

No.CTS-63/2016/67: The petitioner, Sri Ashok Kumar Jain, filed a petition under Section 105 of AVAT Act, 2003, seeking a clarification regarding present rate of tax payable by a registered dealer under "Composition Scheme of Work Contract". The queries raised by the petitioner, Sri Ashok Kumar Jain are, as below: -

- 1. Whether a dealer registered under "Composition Scheme for Work Contract" under Assam Value Added Tax Act, 2003 is liable to pay tax @ 6%.
- 2. Whether the Government Department which is issuing contract to such Contractor registered under "Composition Scheme for Work Contract" is liable to deduct tax @6% or 5%.

According to the petitioner, the Water Resource Department is deducting tax @ 6% after the issuance of Notification No. FTX.55/205/Pt-VII/29 dated 02/07/2016.

Perused the matter. The Notification referred to by the petitioner relates to enhancement of VAT rate from 5% to 6% for goods covered by the Second Schedule and the said Notification does not relate to "Composition Scheme for Works Contract".

Hence, it is clarified that a work contractor who is under "Composition Scheme for Works Contract" shall be liable to pay VAT @ 5% as per Government Notification No FTX.55/2005/Pt/158 dated 31/03/2012 and as per para 4 of the said Notification relating to "Composition Scheme for Works Contract", the person responsible for deducting tax at source shall deduct tax @5% from the amount paid to such works contractor under Composition Scheme.

Accordingly, the matter stands clarified.

Sd/-(Anurag Goel, IAS) Commissioner of Taxes, Assam Dispur, Guwahati-6.

Memo No.CTS-63/2016/67-A

Dated Dispur, the M December, 2016.

Copy to:

- The Commissioner & Secretary to The Government of Assam, Finance Department, Dispur for 1. favour of kind information.
- The Additional commissioner of Taxes, Assam(All)/Joint Commissioner of Taxes, Assam (All) 2. for information.
- The Deputy Commissioner of Taxes (All) for information. 3.
- The Assistant Commissioner of Taxes(All)/ Superintendent of Taxes(All) for information. 4.
- Sri. Ashok Kr. Jain, Bijoynagar, Kamrup, Assam for information. 5.

Joint Commissioner of Taxes, Assam,

Dispur, Guwahati-6.